English Novelsالأدب العالمي

Middlemarch – George Eliot

Middlemarch – George Eliot

This book is a Study of Provincial Life is a novel by George Eliot, the pen name of Mary Anne Evans

later Marian Evans. This book is her seventh novel, begun in 1869 and then put aside during the final

illness of Thornton Lewes, the son of her companion George Henry Lewes. During the following year

Eliot resumed work, blend together several stories into a consistent whole, and during 1871-72 the

novel appeared in serial form. The first one-volume edition was published in 1874 and attracted large

sales. Subtitled “A Study of Provincial Life”, the novel is set in the bogus Midlands town of

Middlemarch, thought to be based on Coventry, during the period 1830-32. It has multiple plots with a

large cast of characters, and in addition to its definite though interlocking narratives it pursues a

number of underlying themes, including the status of women, the nature of marriage, idealism,

self-interest, religion, hypocrisy, political reform, and education. The pace is leisurely, the tone is mildly

didactic (with an authorial voice that occasionally bursts through the narrative), and the canvas is very


Middlemarch - George Eliot

Download Link : From Here
View Link : From Here

زر الذهاب إلى الأعلى
%d مدونون معجبون بهذه: